Hall of fame - TipperaryAssociationDublin

Association Dublin
Go to content
Each year the Tipperary association Dublin accepts nominations for our two awards. They include the Tipperary person of the year and an inductee into our Hall of Fame. Here is a selection of previous award winners.
2019 inductee - Jimmy Finn

The Tipperary Association Dublin has chosen one of Tipperary’s all-time great hurlers, Jimmy Finn of Borris-Ileigh, as the Hall of Fame inductee for 2019.

2018 inductee - Sister Eileen Fahey

Sister Eileen Fahey, a native of Bansha, was announced as the Hall of Fame winner for 2018 in recognition of her lifetime contribution to addiction treatment. She gained national prominence many years ago when she founded Aiseiri in Cahir.

2017 inductee - Dennis Ryan

The Association has also announced that Newport native, Mr Denis Ryan is to be awarded the Association’s Hall of Fame Award for 2017 to mark his lifetime contribution to and achievement in the field of Irish folk and culture – both at home and abroad.

2016 inductee - Eddie Dlaton

The Association has also announced that Mr Eddie Dalton, Golden, Co Tipperary is their Hall of Fame Award winner for 2016. He has been selected in recognition of his groundbreaking research leading to the final granting of a posthumous pardon to Henry (Harry) Gleeson in January 2016.

2015 inductee - Prof John Ryan

John Ryan, known locally as Johnny, is a native of Ardfinnan and from a farm background. He attended high school in Cahir and then UCD on a County Council Scholarship, where he studied Agricultural Science. After graduation he pursued a Doctor of Philosophy degree in soil science. In his early years he played football for Ardfinnan, winning minor, under-21 and senior county medals in the early 1960s. He played both hurling and football in UCD.

2014 - All previous award winners honoured

In 2014 the Tipperary Association Dublin celebrated 80 years in existence. A number of events were planned to mark this major milestone in the Association’s history. The highlight of the 80th celebrations was a 'Night of Legends'. This was held on Friday the 5th of December in the Anner hotel, Thurles. This special night brought together all those people who were honoured by the Association in the past as Tipperary Person of the Year and Hall of Fame award winners. The event was a night where the legends and stars of Tipperary from the sporting, business and cultural world gathered together.

Read more....
2013 inductee - Michael Berkery

The former General Secretary of the Irish Farmers Association (IFA) and current Chairman of FBD Holdings – the insurance giant - has been chosen as  the Hall of Fame winner for 2013 by the Tipperary Association Dublin.

2012 inductee - Mickey 'The Rattler' Byrne

One of the great legends of Tipperary hurling, Mickey "The Rattler" Byrne has been honoured by the Tipperary Association Dublin as the Hall of Fame winner for 2012. A member of the famed Tipperary teams of the 1940’s and 1950’s he is still remembered today for his sterling and unstinting performances over those years.

2011 inductee - Liam Aherne

Liam Aherne of the famous Palace Bar, Fleet Street, Dublin was inducted in the Association’s Hall of Fame in April 2012 by the Tipperary Association as the winner of the Award for 2011. The Aherne family took over the Palace Bar in the 1940s and the place has been a "home from home" for many Tipperary people ever since. Bill Aherne (Liam’s late father) saw to it that anyone from the county was made welcome and offered support when ever needed. His son Liam and family have carried on that proud tradition.

2010 inductee - Bishop Willie Walsh

In March 2011 retired Bishop of Killaloe, the Most Reverend Willie Walsh was inducted by the Tipperary Association Dublin as its Hall of Fame winner for 2010. A native of Roscrea, he was educated in Corville National School and St. Flannan’s College, Ennis. He studied for the priesthood at St. Patrick’s College, Maynooth and the Pontifical Irish College, Rome.

(C) Tipperary Association Dublin 2021
Contact Us
Association Dublin
Back to content