Person of the year - TipperaryAssociationDublin

Association Dublin
Go to content

Each year the Tipperary association Dublin accepts nominations for our two awards. They include the Tipperary person of the year and an inductee into our Hall of Fame. Here is a selection of previous award winners.
2019 inductee - S Callanan & B Maher

For the first time since the Awards commenced in 1981 the Person of the Year award goes jointly to well-known Tipperary senior hurlers Seamus Callanan (Drom & Inch) and Brendan Maher (Borris-Ileigh).

2018 inductee - Peter Ryan

Irish Paralympian, Peter Ryan of Upperchurch has been chosen as Tipperary Person of the Year for 2018 by the Association.

2017 inductee - Dennis Floyd

Denis Floyd, Chairman of Birdhill Tidy Village Committee is the Tipperary Association Dublin’s choice of Tipperary Person of the Year for 2017. Floyd, along with hard working committee members, drove the Tipperary village to the pinnacle in 2017 in scooping the ultimate prize of Ireland’s tidiest town.

2016 inductee - Michael Ryan

Michael Ryan, manager of the Tipperary Senior Hurling team has been named as the Tipperary Person of the Year for 2016 by the Tipperary Association Dublin. Ryan is the Association’s choice after leading Tipperary to the top of the hurling world in 2016.

2015 inductee - Noel McGrath

Tipperary people had every reason to celebrate and be proud when Noel McGrath got a tremendous reception and a standing ovation last August in Croke Park when he came on a substitute for Tipperary in the All-Ireland semi-final. The celebration and recognition of the man’s return from serious illness was expressed by all those present and by hurling fans everywhere. The joy felt in Croke Park was felt across all sports. It could be claimed that it transcended sport itself.

2014 - All award winners honoured

In 2014 the Tipperary Association Dublin celebrated 80 years in existence. A number of events were planned to mark this major milestone in the Association’s history. The highlight of the 80th celebrations was a 'Night of Legends'. This was held on Friday the 5th of December in the Anner hotel, Thurles. This special night brought together all those people who were honoured by the Association in the past as Tipperary Person of the Year and Hall of Fame award winners. The event was a night where the legends and stars of Tipperary from the sporting, business and cultural world gathered together.

Read more....
2013 inductee - Brendan Cummins

In October of last year Brendan Cummins announced his retirement from Inter –county hurling having played in goal for Tipperary for 18 years, making a record 73 championship appearances and keeping 22 clean sheets.

2012 inductee - Martin Quinn

Martin Quinn, Chairman of Canon Hayes Recreation Centre in Tipperary Town and past President of Muintir na Tíre is the Tipperary Association Dublin’s Person of the Year for 2012.

2011 inductee - David Power

David Power, the manager of the Tipperary Minor Football All-Ireland winning team in 2011 is the Tipperary Person of the Year for 2011.

The winning of the All-Ireland Minor Championship in 2011 by the county’s minor footballers was a very special and unique achievement. The victory lifted the spirits of all Tipperary people last September and it was very well received and appreciated by football fans outside of the county.

2010 inductee - Liam Sheedy

Liam Sheedy, the Tipperary senior hurling manager in 2010 was the Tipperary Association Dublin’s choice for Tipperary Person of the year for 2010.

(C) Tipperary Association Dublin 2021
Contact Us
Association Dublin
Back to content